CCSA names 2014 all-conference teams


The Central Collegiate Ski Association announced its all-conference teams on Wednesday, with Northern Michigan leading all schools with seven total honorees. Alaska placed four of its skiers on the All-CCSA squads, while St. Scholastica and Michigan Tech both saw three student-athletes honored. St. Olaf skiers earned two all-conference spots (both first-team honors) and Green Bay earned one all-conference award as well.

On the men’s side, Northern Michigan’s Kyle Bratrud and George Cartwright shared first-team honors with St. Scholastica Paul Schommer, Alaska’s Logan Hanneman and St. Olaf’s Jake Brown. Member of the All-CCSA Second Team included NMU’s Fredrik Schwenke, Michigan Tech’s Matt Wong, St. Scholastica’s Chris Parr and Alaska’s Michael Fehrenbach and Max Olex.

St. Olaf’s Paige Schember joins a pair of Northern Michigan and Michigan Tech skiers on the women’s All-CCSA First Team, with Mary Kate Cirelli and Felicia Gesior representing the Wildcats, and Alice Flanders and Deedra Irwin earning spots for the Huskies. Alaska’s Nichole Bathe, Green Bay’s Kailey Mucha, St. Scholastica’s Sarah Allen, and NMU’s Hannah Boyer and Rosie Frankowski fill out the all-conference second-team.

The CCSA skiers head to Houghton, Mich. this weekend for the NCAA Central Region Championships as their season hits the home stretch. The final qualifiers before NCAA’s, both Saturday and Sunday’s meets will be stream lived via

Men’s All-CCSA teams

First team
Kyle Bratrud, NMU
Paul Schommer, St. Scholastica
George Cartwright, NMU
Logan Hanneman, Alaska
Jake Brown, St. Olaf

Second team
Fredrik Schwenke, NMU
Matt Wong, Michigan Tech
Michael Fehrenbach, Alaska
Chris Parr, St. Scholastica
Max Olex, Alaska

Women’s All-CCSA teams

First team
Mary Kate Cirelli, NMU
Alice Flanders, Michigan Tech
Paige Schember, St. Olaf
Felicia Gesior, NMU
Deedra Irwin, Michigan Tech

Second team
Nichole Bathe, Alaska
Hannah Boyer, NMU
Kailey Mucha, Green Bay
Sarah Allen, St. Scholastica
Rosie Frankowski, NMU