CCSA names 2015 All-Conference teams


The Central Collegiate Ski Association has announced it’s 2015 All-Conference teams. Northern Michigan University leads the conference with nine of its skiers among the honorees, while five of Michigan Tech’s skiers and four of St. Scholastica’s were named All-Conference. St. Olaf and Gustavus Adolphus each received an All-Conference award to round out the twenty skiers honored.

Leading the women’s All-CCSA First Team is NMU’s Jordyn Ross and teammate Felicia Gesior, St. Scholastica’s Anita Kirvesniemi and Sharmila Ahmed, and Michigan Tech’s Alice Flanders. The All-CCSA Second Team includes MTU’s Ulrika Axelsson and Deedra Irwin, NMU’s Sophie Schimpl and Megan Edic, and Gustavus Adolphus’s Marit Sonnesyn.

The men’s All-CCSA First Team is led by NMU’s Adam Martin along with teammates Erik Soderman, Fredrik Schwencke, and Kyle Bratrud. St. Scholastica’s Paul Schommer rounds out the First Team honorees. The All-CCSA Second Team includes St. Olaf’s Jake Brown, CSS’s Reitler Hodgert, MTU’s Haakon Hjelstuen and Kyle Hanson, and NMU’s Krystof Kopal.

CCSA competition resumes at the NCAA Central Regional Championships on February 28th and March 1st in Marquette, Michigan. The Regional Championships mark the final qualifying races for the 2015 NCAA Championships.


Women’s All-CCSA Teams

First Team

Jordyn Ross, NMU

Felicia Gesior, NMU

Anita Kirvesniemi, St. Scholastica

Alice Flanders, Michigan Tech

Sharmila Ahmed, St. Scholastica


Second Team

Ulrika Axelsson, Michigan Tech

Marit Sonnesyn, Gustavus

Sophie Schimpl, NMU

Megan Edic, NMU

Deedra Irwin, Michigan Tech


Men’s All-CCSA Teams

First Team

Adam Martin, NMU

Erik Soderman, NMU

Fredrik Schwencke, NMU

Paul Schommer, St. Scholastica

Kyle Bratrud, NMU


Second Team

Jake Brown, St. Olaf

Reitler Hodgert, St. Scholastica

Haakon Hjelstuen, Michigan Tech

Krystof Kopal, NMU

Kyle Hanson, Michigan Tech