All-CCSA teams recognized


Feb. 22, 2010

The CCSA named its men’s and women’s first and second all-conference teams Wednesday. The All-CCSA teams recognize season-long achievement and were based on points given out in each race. The top 20 finishers received Super Tour Points (points were awarded in each race by a 30-25-21-18-16-15-14… pattern) for each race and the points were added up to get the teams. The top 5 points-getters made the first team, while the next 5 were named to the second team.

The Northern Michigan women had two skiers, Christina Gillis and Laura DeWitt, named to the first team. Alaska’s Aurelia Korthauer, Michigan Tech’s Riikonen-Purtsi, and Wisconsin-Green Bay’s Carolyn Freeman rounded out the squad.

NMU also had two skiers on the men’s first team. Wildcats George Cartwright and Kevin Cutts made the team, joining top points-getter Santiago Ocariz (Wisconsin-Green Bay), Michigan Tech senior Oskar Lund, and Gustavus Adolphus’ Jens Brabbit.

The women’s all-CCSA second team displayed the depth of both Northern Michigan and Alaska. Monica Markvardsen and Marie Helen Soderman represented NMU while Theresia Schnurr, Julia Pierson, and Anna Coulter were named for the Nanooks.

Michigan Tech’s Jesse Lang and Jesse Smith each represented the Huskies on the men’s second team. They were joined by Tim Cook and Chris Bowler of NMU, and Alaska’s John Parry finished out the team. Complete individual point totals are listed below.
Men’s first team All-CCSA

School Name Points
UWGB Santiago Ocariz 221
MTU Oskar Lund 152
NMU George Cartwright 144
NMU Kevin Cutts 111
GAC Jens Brabbit 104

Women’s first team All-CCSA

School Name Points
NMU Christina Gillis 159
NMU Laura DeWitt 157
UAF Aurelia Korthauer 150
MTU Henna Riikonen-Purtsi 133
UWGB Carolyn Freeman 130

Men’s second team All-CCSA

School Name Points
MTU Jesse Lang 85
UAF John Parry 84
NMU Tim Cook 76
NMU Chris Bowler 74
MTU Jesse Smith 73

Women’s second team All-CCSA

School Name Points
NMU Monica Markvardsen 115
NMU Marie Helen Soderman 94
UAF Theresia Schnurr 88
UAF Julia Pierson 88
UAF Anna Coulter 82